Travel Home Page
State Basic Facts
State Fun Facts
Visitor Bureaus
Famous People
Seven Wonders
Washtu: A Poem
Search This Site
Order Travel Stuff
Contact Us

Copyright 2007 by Open Horizons and John Kremer
Last modified: 5/20/07

Hot Times, Cool Places

New Mexico Vacation Fun Facts

International Space
Hall of Fame

The International Space Hall of Fame honors all those who have helped to design, build, administer, and carry out space exploration.

Inductees include astronauts Edwin Aldrin, Neil Armstrong, Guion Blueford Jr., Frank Borman, Malcolm Carpenter, Eugene Cernan, Roger Chaffee, Eileen Marie Collins, Michael Collins, Yuri Gagarin, Marc Garneau, John Glenn Jr., Virgil Grissom, Susan Helms, James Irwin, Mae Carol Jemison, Pete Knight, Alexei Leonov, James Lovell Jr., Shannon Lucid, Bruce McCandless II, Edgar Mitchell, Franklin Story Musgrave, Claude Nicollier, Valeri Vladimirovich Polyakov, Sally Ride, Svetlana Savitskaya, Walter Schirra Jr., Harrison Schmitt, Alan Shepard Jr., Donald Slayton, Kathyrn Sullivan, Valentina Tereshkova, Norman Thagard, Rudolfo Neri Vela, Joseph Walker, Edward White II, Charles Yeager, and John Young.

Inductees also include scientists Karol Bossart, Dirk Brouwer, Arthur C. CLarke, William Congreve, Nicolaus Copernicus, Louis Damblanc, Charles Draper, Hugh Dryden, Robert Esnault-Pelterie, Galileo Galilei, Robert Goddard, William Hale, James Henry, Hipparchus, Edwin Hubble, Johannes Kepler, Joseph Kittinger, Willy Ley, Acrhibald Low, Isaac Newton, Hermann Oberth, Jeannette Piccard, Jean Felix Piccard, Klaus Riedel, Carol Sagan, Ernst Steinhoff, Hubertus Strughold, Clyde Tombaugh, Wilhelm Unge, James Van Allen, Wernher von Braun, James Webb, Fred Whipple, Johannes Winkler, James Wyld, and Fritz Zwicky.

The hall of fame also features legislator Clinton Anderson, space artist Chesley Bonestell, newscaster Walter Cronkite, animal trainer Edward Dittmer Sr. (trained Ham and Enos, the first chimpanzees in space), Dr. William Douglas (personal physician to the first seven Mercury astronauts), and writer Konstantin Tsiolkovsky.

Address: New Mexico Museum of Space History,
P O Box 5430, Alamogordo, New Mexico 88311-5430; 505-437-2840; Toll-Free: 877-333-6589.


Fun Facts Page


John Kremer, Travel Guide

My websites:

Promoting Your Books

The Biology of Business

Hall of Fame

Quotable Books

Free Books for All

My blogs:

Promoting Your Books

Teleseminars and<
Free Reports Blog

Hot Times,
Cool Places Blog

Open Horizons
P O Box 2887
Taos NM 87571